Thursday July 16, 2009

Board changes at Maybank

PETALING JAYA: Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank) yesterday appointed Tan Sri Dr Hadenan A. Jalil, Datuk Seri Ismail Shahudin and Datuk Dr Tan Tat Wai independent directors.

In a statement, Maybank also said Mohd Hashir Abdullah and Tan Sri Chua Hock Chin would step down as directors effective yesterday.

Maubank new independent director Datuk Seri Ismail Shahudin

Hadenan was auditor general from 2002 to 2006 and is now chairman of Takaful Malaysia Bhd, ICB Islamic Bank Ltd (Bangladesh) and PNB Property Holdings Sdn Bhd.

He is also chairman of the Operation Review Panel of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission.

Ismail was chairman of Bank Muamalat Malaysia Bhd from 2004 until his retirement in July 2008.

He is currently on the board of UEM Group Bhd, PLUS Expressways Bhd, Aseana Properties Ltd, SMPC Corp Bhd, EP Manufacturing Bhd and several other private limited companies.

An economist, Tan started his career with Bank Negara in 1978 undertaking research in economic policies and was subsequently appointed consultant to the central bank. He is currently group managing director of Southern Steel Bhd, a post he has held since 1983.

The statement said the appointments represented a significant development in the on-going transition and succession planning exercise implemented by the Maybank board following an initiative formulated in 2007.

MAYBANK : [Stock Watch] [News]

For latest Bursa Malaysia indices, charts and other information click here

  • E-mail this story
  • Print this story
  • Bookmark and Share